DREAM Act Vote Roll Call in Defense Reauthorization

September 21, 2010

(For the final vote that took place in the Senate December 18, 2010 click here)

We may have lost this battle, but will win the war.  For now, it’s time to make some people pay for their actions against our community.  Learn these Senators’ names, memorize them, and let’s make them pay this November.  Here are the Senators that are up for re-election that voted “NO” to move forward the DREAM Act in the Defense Reauthorization Act (if I’m forgetting to mention a Senator that denied us the DREAM, let me know please):


  • Richard Shelby of Alabama
  • John McCain of Arizona
  • Johnny Isakson of Georgia
  • Mike Crapo of Idaho
  • Chuck Grassley of Iowa
  • Jim Bunning of Kentucky
  • David Vitter of Louisiana
  • Judd Gregg of New Hampshire
  • Richard Burr of North Carolina
  • Tom Coburn of Oklahoma
  • Jim DeMint of South Carolina
  • John Thune of South Dakota
  • Bob Bennett of Utah


  • Blanche Lincoln of Arkansas

Who didn’t even bother to vote (currently running as write-in candidate for re-election):

Lisa Murkowski of Alaska (Republican)

Here’s the complete vote breakdown of all Senators.

To be honest, more than anything else my heart is bursting right now because I’m extremely proud of our community for coming together to fight for the DREAM against all odds; the fight continues because the dream shall never die!  We are strong and we will make it happen!  For now, let’s make sure we make these people pay for getting in our way.

Update: the DREAM Act to be added again to the Defense Reauthorization Act after the midterm elections?  Via Yahoo News:

Democratic Sen. Carl Levin said in a news conference that this was the first time senators had filibustered a defense bill — legislation that historically brings together Democrats and Republicans. (Levin also said the DREAM Act, a controversial immigration proposal, would again be added as an amendment when senators try to pass the defense bill after the elections.)